#MayIGAuthors Day 13: Friday the 13th #FridayReads

I haven’t been doing a great job keeping up with these prompts, and I was a little at a loss about what to post today because I’m not a big fan of horror. But, I got some cool book mail, so I thought I’d share that instead.

image

Two things arrived in the mail this week. One is this tote from Bloomsbury that I got for pre-ordering A Court of Mist and Fury. The second is a birthday present from my husband. He surprised me by finding me a signed hardcover edition of one of my favorite books by one of my all-time favorite authors. That old-school sci-fi cover art is seriously vintage. I love it! I’m impressed that he was able to find this because Sassinak is not one ofAnne McCaffrey’s most popular books. Plus, this edition was published in the early 90s, and McCaffrey died a few years ago (I’m still sad about that).

Also pictured is the book I’m currently reading, Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld. It’s a modern Pride & Prejudice re-telling and so far it’s really entertaining. I’ve previously read (and enjoyed) several other books by Ms. Sittenfeld, and I think her dry humor and observations on culture and society are a great fit for this project.

Overall, I’d say that my Friday is going pretty well. 🙂

Advertisements

#MayIGAuthors Day 10: Quote

I don’t keep track of my favorite book quotes in any formal way. But, one quote that I love is from Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale.

HandmaidQuote

In the book, “Nolite te bastardes carborundorum” is Latin for “Don’t let the bastards grind you down.”

First thing I love about this quote is that it’s a great reminder for everyday life. Somedays I feel like I should just write this on the back of my hand so I remember.

The other thing is that this is something my dad used to say all the time (except he said “get” instead of “grind”). When I got to the part where she figures this out in the book, I kind of flipped out. I’m fairly certain that my dad never read this book, and I’ll probably never know where picked it up. But it was such a cool coincidence and is probably the main reason why this is one of my favorite book quotes.

#MayIGAuthors Day 7: Boost an Author

I’ve been thinking about this task all day, and I can’t come up with an idea that satisfies me. There are plenty of authors that I love, but you probably already know most of them. I tried to think of a lesser-known author to boost, but I kept coming up blank. I combed through my Goodreads shelves, I looked at my actual bookshelf, and I still came up with nothing.

I finally decided to go with two books (and two authors) that I’ve talked about already on this blog, but that I think have not achieved the wide popularity they deserve.

imageThe first is The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins and would appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere and American Gods. The second is Sword by Amy Bai and would appeal to fans of Kristin Cashore’s Graceling. Both books are debuts released in 2015, and (as far as I’ve seen) neither author has released any information about new books in the works. But these were two of my favorite books I read last year and I think they both deserve a lot more attention then I’ve seen them get so far. So, check them out!

#MayIGAuthors Day 5 and 6 plus #FridayReads

I couldn’t think of anything creative to post for the “Cinco de Mayo” task because I was too busy devouring A Court of Mist and Fury. So I posted this to Instagram yesterday:

image

Then I saw that today’s theme was “book set in Spring” and I immediately thought, Spring Court, duh:

image

Yeah, fine, I’m a bit obsessed at the moment. But can you blame me? I finished ACoMaF today and I loved it. You may remember that I had some mixed feelings about ACoTaR, but now everything is clear. I get it. It’s like how the first three Throne of Glass books build into the awesomeness that is Queen of Shadows. Except this time I only had to wait for book 2 to get the payoff I wanted. Character growth, FTW! No spoilers, just *squeeeeee*!

#MayIGAuthors Day 3: #WhereIWrite

image

Technically, I have a desk, but this has been where I’ve been doing most of my writing and editing recently. It’s comfy, but not too comfy. It’s close to my hubby’s work space (for company) and to the kitchen (for tea refills and snacks). I have my awesome headphones for music, or just to muffle noises so I can focus. And, these days at least, I have a printed copy of the edit letter for the novel I’m working on. Besides my trusty laptop, that’s basically all I need.

May Photo Challenge #MayIGAuthors

Since it’s May, and I love May, and since the photo challenge I did in December was so much fun, I decided I’m going to give this May Instagram photo challenge a try.

MayIGAuthors

Like I did in December, I’m going to post my photos here, to the blog. I will probably also post them on Instagram. I don’t usually post anything to my Instagram account, but if you want to follow it, I’m @emmenozzi (extra “m” required because I was apparently a late adopter).

Today’s post is supposed to be “May TBR” but we already went over that in my previous post. But here it is again:

May2016TBR

Who else is planning on joining in this photo challenge? If you’re playing along on Instagram, let me know what your account name is there so I can follow you!