On reading lists and book projects

This year I gave myself way too many book projects, and now it’s December and I have a “guilt list” of books I need to finish before the end of this year. Not fun.

My list has eight books on it. Six of these are books I need to read to finish the Book Riot “Read Harder” challenge. The other two are books I need to read so that I can meet my “diverse books” goal of reading at least twelve books by non-American and/or non-white authors this year.

The thing is, I actually want to read (almost) all of those books. So, it’s not like I’m making myself read things that I don’t want to read. It’s just that there are so many books that I want to read MORE than those books.

When I was voting for the Goodreads Choice Award nominees, I realized that I’d only read a handful of the books nominated. Many of them were on my TBR, some of them I even owned, but I didn’t get to read them this year because I was so busy trying to check all the boxes on my various reading projects. This made me sad.

I was all set to do another reading challenge next year. I had this great idea planned and I’d already made a list. I wanted to read all the Hugo and Nebula best novel award winners from this century. But now I’m reconsidering. This “required reading” thing is making me grumpy. I don’t want to be grumpy. I don’t want reading to feel like work when I read (mostly) for fun.

So that’s it. I’m calling it. No reading projects in 2016. I’m not going to push it. I’m just going to read what I want, when I want to, and not worry about it.

3 thoughts on “On reading lists and book projects

  1. That sounds wise. I’m afraid of getting into that problem myself so I’m doing one reading project in 2016, and that’s to read 16+ horror books. That’s it. Considering I review primarily science fiction and horror, this should not be a huge deal.

Comments are closed.