Reading inbox-outbox: Week of 22 June

It’s the end of the last full week of June, which means the first official month of summer is almost over. But, it doesn’t feel much like summer here. “Fogust” in San Francisco seems to have arrived early this year. At least foggy weather is still good reading weather…

Inbox (books acquired)

  • No new books this week. Sorry.

Outbox (books finished)

  • Blightborn by Chuck Wendig (Kindle) — This is the second book in this trilogy and I bought it over a year ago. The final book comes out in mid-July and I already have it pre-ordered, but I have mixed feelings about this series. It’s definitely a unique story, supported by some imaginative world-building, and we get to see more of how that world works in this book (something I thought was missing from the first book). It’s very action-packed and full of diverse and colorful characters. I’m just not as into it as I feel like I should be. I’m beginning to think that it’s just the “voice” of the novel sounds too much like the voice of the author. Which seems like a weird complaint. Writers are always looking for unique voices, right? And if I didn’t follow Mr. Wendig on Twitter and read his blog regularly, maybe I would be less familiar with his unique voice and brand of humor and it would make reading these books more enjoyable for me. I don’t know. I’m still planning on reading the next book, not only because this one ends in a mighty cliffhanger…
  • The Martian by Andy Weir (Kindle) — I bought this book seven months ago and it took me forever to get around to reading it. But, it was just as good as everyone promised. People describe this as “McGyver on Mars,” and that’s a good analogy. But it’s also some of the most realistic, near-future sci-fi I’ve read in a while. Painstakingly researched, it includes a lot of “show your work” math (which you can skim if you’re not into math). And the main character is a hoot, which is good because the narration is mostly his logs throughout much of the book. Thanks to the fact that the movie trailer came out before I finally got around to reading the book, I could not stop picturing Watney as Matt Damon. And, honestly, I think Matt Damon is a PERFECT fit for this character. This is going to be an amazing movie. If you like science and space and non-stop, action-packed, tense, what-is-going-to-go-wrong-next books, but you also like your fiction with a healthy dose of reality (aka, not fantasy), then this needs to be on your summer reading list.

Queue (what I’m reading next)

  • I’d meant to start On the Steel Breeze after finishing Blightborn. So, I guess I’ll read that next. But, I have a ton of work to do before the holiday weekend next weekend. So, I’m not sure how much reading I’ll get done next week…
  • I’m saving my pre-release copy of The New and Improved Romie Futch for the long weekend because it’s a paperback…

Hope you are enjoying your summer! Happy reading!

 

(Reminder: the format for my weekly inbox/outbox posts was adopted from Book Riot’s weekly column of the same name…)

