Reading: inbox-outbox for 29 Nov

One bonus I’ve noticed since I started writing this post each week is that knowing I am going to have to report out on my “outbox” encourages me to actually finish whatever I’m reading. On the other hand, one downside is that it’s definitely highlighting the number of books that I buy. I knew I’d gotten into the habit of buying a lot of books this year, but this is ridiculous. So, if anyone out there is considering what to buy me for Christmas…, may I recommend an Amazon (or Powells) gift card?

Inbox (books acquired)

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses (Kindle) by Sarah J. Maas — This one doesn’t come out until May, but I pre-ordered it. This is the start of a new series by the author of the Throne of Glass series that I’ve been enjoying. Because of that series, she has become one of my “auto-buy” authors. I can’t wait to see what she does with this new world she’s created!
  • The Martian (Kindle) by Andy Weir — This comes highly recommended from several sources. So, when I saw the price drop to $3 on Kindle, I jumped on it. Like my other ebooks purchased when I see them on sale, I probably won’t get to this one for a while.
  • This Night So Dark (Kindle) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner — This is a novella set in the same world as These Broken Stars and is meant to bridge to their new release (which I pre-ordered months ago), This Shattered World, which comes out at the end of December. I’ve been enjoying their YA Sci-Fi, and I like that they have kicked the “series” trend and decided to just create a bunch of loosely connected novels all set in the same world. I am so looking forward to the next book, hopefully this holds me over until then.

Outbox (books finished)

  • Grave Mercy (Kindle) by Robin LaFevers — I first heard of this one on the Book Nut blog when she reviewed it over two years ago. So, it’s been on my radar for a while. This is the first in a trilogy of books, each set in this same world but featuring different main characters. Each book features a different assassin, who tells the story from their perspective based on their role in the unfolding drama. It works because it’s historical fiction that sticks close to the key points and characters in history, while adding in the invented concept of a convent dedicated to training the “daughters of Death” (one of the nine “old gods”) to become assassins charged with carrying out the will of their god, Death, in service to the duchess of Brittany. As far as a premise goes, this sounded really great. I grabbed this when it went on sale and dove in, expecting awesomeness. Unfortunately, I immediately got hung up on a technicality. The author chose to write this in the first person, present tense POV. That is my least favorite way of telling or reading a story. This choice of narration continued to annoy me for the entire tale. I mostly enjoyed the story, but I didn’t really bond with the main character (the one telling the story) because her unquestioning acceptance of authority was a little too frustrating for someone with my personality. I’m trying to decide if I want to continue the series. The other two main characters (her “sister” assassins, both introduced in this book) sound slightly more interesting. But if the other two books (book 3 was just released) are also written in first person, present tense POV then I don’t think I want to. For now I’m just going to put the next one on my watch list and wait for an ebook sale and a deep discount. But, if the premise sounds good to you, and you don’t think you’ll be bothered by the narration, it is a good story. I got sucked in quickly and spent precious writing time reading this instead because I wanted to know what would happen (even if I did figure out who the “bad guy” was very early on in the story).

Queue (what I’m reading next)

Now that NaNoWriMo is almost over, I should have a little more time to read. Which is a good thing, because I need to finish another seven books in order to hit my reading goal for this year.

