NaNoWriMo progress report (and story summary)

Word count update…

Yesterday: 6 x 1k word sprints completed!

Today: 3 x 1k word sprints completed!

I still have a few hours left before bed, and I’ve finally got things moving in my story. So, I might be able to sneak in at least one more sprint before bed, but it’s been a very productive weekend so far!

Par for today is 38,333 words. So, I’d say I’m almost back on track.

I never did say what I decided to write this year… So, in case you’re interested, here’s my 2014 NaNoWriMo story in a nutshell…

The idea came to me when I was trying to figure out how to make whatever I was writing for NaNoWriMo overlap enough with this final paper that I had to write for my Craft of Reading UCBx Extension class so that I wouldn’t waste any of my November word count on non-NaNoWriMo projects. Luckily, we could write our final papers as a “creative response” to one of our assigned readings, instead of a “critical response” paper like we’d been doing through the rest of the class. So, I took a key event in one of our assigned readings (a “funny cancer essay” about a guy who had been diagnosed with cancer and was told he might lose his entire arm and part of his shoulder in order to save himself*) and smushed that idea (having to face the possibility of losing an arm) with the very basic plot arc from a classic fairy tale (Snow White and Rose Red), because fairy tales also played an important role in this essay.

What I ended up with is a science fiction, expanded version of the Snow White and Rose Red story, where Nevina (aka Snow White) and her sister, Sanja (aka Rose Red), find out that their simple life, living in the cottage in the woods with their loving mother, is about to get very interesting. Their mother has a secret about their heritage that has put them all in grave danger, and causes them to have to leave their mother, and the safety of their home, and travel to the big city in order to get an important message out to some people who may be able to help them. In the process they encounter friends and foes (but have trouble telling which is which), learn about modern technology, like “augments” (cyborg-like enhancements for humans), and (spoiler!) one of them ends up having to face the possibility of losing their arm (and their humanity) in order to save them all.

I’ve finally reached the part in the story where they are in the city and the action really starts to pick up. I have a feeling this is going to need more than 50k words before it’s done. But, that’s the best part of NaNoWriMo, getting enough out there that you really want to keep going and finish it.

Bring on the short work week and long holiday weekend!

 

* in case you’re interested, the “funny cancer story” biblio info is: Rakoff, David. “Another Shoe.” Half Empty. Doubleday. 2010. p195-224.

